Début Award Lisbon Triennale Millennium bcp

The name Début defines its goal: recognize a practice whose artistic consolidation is still under construction, but whose thinking and approach are so relevant that its authors could be driven to success. New voices, new ways of thinking and new concepts that bring a fresh face to architecture: Début. We’re delighted to announce the shortlist for Triennale 2019:

Bast (France)
Bonell+Dòriga (Spain)
COMUNAL: Taller de Arquitectura (Mexico)
gru.a (Brazil)
Lacol (Spain)
LANZA Atelier (Mexico)
Lluís Alexandre Casanovas Blanco (USA)
Norman Kelley (USA)
sauermartins (Brazil)
SUPERVOID Architects (Italy)

The winner receives a prize of € 5000 and participates in an unique conference during the opening days of The Poetics of Reason from 3 to 5 October.


Ana Dana Beroš, Anna Ramos Sanz, Fosco Lucarelli, Go Hasegawa, Joaquim Moreno, Mariabruna Fabrizi, Sofia von Ellrichshausen

Prémio Début: Umwelt, Conferência, The Form of Form, Trienal 2016

For this award, launched at Triennale 2013, the applications are valid for architects working individually or in ateliers, up to 35 years. The open call was open from 24 May 2018 to 26 March 2019. In the past editions, the jury awarded Chilean Umwelt (2016) and the North American Jimenez Lai, from Spectacular Bureau (2013).